There Are No Excuses at 5am

About a month ago I started doing a group workout at 5:45am and I’m finally at the point where I’m REALLY enjoying being up this early. There are so many studies about how the early morning hours are ripe for creativity and productivity, however, I’ve never been able to motivate myself to take advantage of those hours…until now.

I was first introduced to FitRanx in Tarzana, California at the end of 2014 when I was invited to take part in their Turkey Burpee challenge ON Thanksgiving Day. My friend and trainer Sandie Mills (of Blackwidow Protection) had made me a fan of burpees (a great full-body exercise you can do anywhere) so I was intrigued by the idea and decided to check it out.

It was easily one of the most fun, productive and challenging workouts I’ve ever done. Sweating and shouting with about 20 other people in an indoor/outdoor environment took me back to my days of grade school and PE class. I was hooked and I happily chowed down at Thanksgiving dinner knowing that I had more than earned those calories!

But then the age old question of “where do I fit this new thing into my life” reared its ugly head. I have two-businesses and a young child who is often attached at my hip, so my life is full and busy. However, when I perused the FitRanx class schedule the 5:45am class immediately caught my attention. “I could work-out and be home and showered before my little one even gets up,” I thought to myself. AND I could finally get into the habit of taking advantage of those early morning hours as so many of my virtual mentors recommend (Darren Hardy and Tom Corley I’m looking at you!) In his research into the habits of the wealthy, Tom Corley found that 15.44% of wealthy wake-up three-hours before work starts vs. 3% of poor. Plus my friend Sandie had told me that if I really wanted to take my fitness to the next level, I needed to exercise vigorously at least 3-times a week, but I had never been able to find time to train with her more than twice a week because we would meet during prime work hours.

I decided that the new year would be the beginning of my early morning experiment (cliche I know, but it just worked out timing-wise). The night before my first workout I got everything I needed ready: wallet/keys/banana/protein shake in the kitchen ready – CHECK, jacket and shoes in the entryway – CHECK, sleep in workout clothes – CHECK. That’s right…to ensure that I’d get to my workout I slept in my workout clothes (they were clean!) But all the preparation worked, and I made it to my first group class with time to spare!

The best part about working out that early in the morning is that IT’S DONE before you have time to come up with an excuse for why you don’t have time to exercise!!! Whereas before, my workouts would hang over my head all day long, and often get supplanted by something “more important,” that is no longer an option because at 5am there is pretty much nothing else for me to do. Another benefit is that I am also finding time to meditate every morning, whereas I almost never found time to do that in my old schedule. Yes the first couple of weeks were a challenging adjustment, but this morning I practically popped out of bed when the alarm went off!

Is getting up earlier something you aspire to? I’d love to hear your thoughts and tips!

Be a spark in the world!

2015/01/img_18701.jpg

Leave a Reply

