Product Review: Chef Le Mieux Julienne Peeler

I’m always looking for multifuctional products in my home. If something can’t do double duty, then I don’t want it!  Especially if something is bulky and will take up precious storage space, which is why I’ve never purchased a mandoline, which is a specialized sort of grater that allows you to get more precise and intricate shapes out of vegetables. Instead I’ve made do with a high quality peeler and just lived with the fact that my zucchini “noodles” were more of a paparadelle in width then a linguini. [Check out my video on decluttering your kitchen tools here.]

Needless to say I was thrilled to come across this peeler that has a traditional “peel” side and then voila, flip it over and you can julienne with the other side. I tried the peeler on carrots, apples and celery and it worked really well. I used the julienne side on zucchini and you can see the results for yourself.  My only complaint is that the julienne side can get a bit stopped up, but that’s to be expected with the smell spaces (see the second photo).

At less than $10 (list price is $29.99 but it retails for about $9 on Amazon), and made out of stainless steel, it is well worth the price and will be hung-up with pride in the area for my “high-use” kitchen tools. From an eco point of view, I also appreciate the 100% metal construction because it is easy to recycle when the time comes.  The design is excellent, the weight of the produt feels high quality, and I would easily give this as a host or housewarming gift. You can purchase this product here.

Have fun cooking!

  

Leave a Reply

