Recipe: Curried Chicken Salad

Trader Joe’s has an amazing ready-made curried chicken salad in their refrigerated section, and I liked it so much I decided to try and replicate it. It’s easy to make ahead and have sitting in the fridge for a quick snack, lunch or dinner; and it has a really nice diversity of flavors and textures which is something I’m a big fan of.

  
Be sure to “FOLLOW” my blog with the links at the bottom of the page (mobile) or on the right-hand side (desktop).

Curried Chicken Salad a la Ember Living via Trader Joe’s
2 chicken breasts
1 large carrot
1/3 cup cashews
1/3 cup thompson raisins or golden raisins
1-1/2 tbl mayonnaise
1-tsp curry powder (I like the organic mix from Whole Foods)
1-1/2 tbl honey (I like raw avocado honey)

Poach the 2 chicken breasts (add to boiling water for 3-minutes then turn it off and let sit for 10-minutes. Check for doneness.) Cube them and then put them aside to cool.

In a medium bowl mix the mayonnaise, curry powder and honey together. You may want more or less curry powder, I had to estimate on the quantity because I used the shaker. Add the cool chicken to this and blend well until everything is evenly coated. Grate or peel the carrots and then add the raisins and cashews and mix evenly. Serve over a bed of greens (I like kale). Serves 4.
Enjoy and be a spark in the world!

Be sure to “FOLLOW” my blog with the links at the bottom of the page (mobile) or on the right-hand side (desktop).

  

Leave a Reply

